Why do I do that?

This past Saturday was Chris’s birthday! I don’t know about you, but I love, love, love birthdays. I love making big celebratory gestures for the people that I love. I can’t imagine what my life would be like without him in it, so he deserves to be celebrated. We don’t really do big gifts for birthdays, it’s not necessarily about tangible things, I just like for him to really know on that day especially that he is undoubtedly loved and treasured. I have taken him on trips in the past to see and do things that I know he will enjoy, like museums in D.C., or just away for the weekend locked away in a oceanfront hotel room (yes in January) to give ourselves time to reconnect and relax. Sometimes we just stay home and spend the day together as a family. No matter the big agenda, there is ALWAYS  a birthday dinner. Usually that dinner includes my whole family because my brother-in-law and my sister both have January birthdays as well.

This year our birthday celebration started a few days early as we had a babysitter Thursday night and were able to go to dinner and movie kid free on a school night (woohoo!). So Thursday night (which also happened to be National Popcorn Day) we indulged and went to Olive Garden for dinner (because pasta) and had snacks at the movies. We had so much fun, the movie was adorable and dinner was delicious. I didn’t feel guilty because it was a special occasion, and I believe in all things in moderation, no big deal. And then Friday came. We were back on track nutritionally, I made dinner like usual, we were doing good. I had sent our oldest daughter out to Target to grab some streamers and balloons to decorate the house for Chris to wake up to on Saturday, and then I had the thought: birthdays need birthday cake right?? (Anyone who knows me can tell you birthday cake is one of my biggest weaknesses. I LOVE birthday cake! To me cake is like therapy, lol. Happy? Celebrate with birthday cake. Rough day? Cake will make you feel better.) YES!! We needed birthday cake! I messaged Amber to bring home cake too. Y’all, we didn’t even wait until his birthday. I’m so weak *sigh*.

Ok, so now it was finally Saturday, his actual birthday. We had plans to go out to dinner with the whole family to celebrate all of the January birthdays. We ended up going to Applebee’s. Ummmmmmm…Have you ever heard of the Apple Chimi-Cheesecake?? This dessert is AMAZING: cheesecake wrapped in a tortilla, deep-fried, coated in cinnamon and sugar, served with fried apples and ice-cream, all drizzled with caramel. Yeah, I’ll take one of those please.

16142485_10106183851015472_4629742085108426884_n
Saturday’s birthday dinner with my family

Three days in a row! Three days in a row I royally screwed up my food plans. Ugh! Why do I do that? The upside is that I did at least continue to work out and drink my water, lol. So there’s my Monday confession: just in case you were wondering, I’m not perfect. I still make REALLY bad food choices sometimes. The lesson that I have learned though is that I don’t have to beat myself up about them. One bad choice, or three, does not have to derail all of my progress. I have come way too far to turn back now. Here’s to Monday: a new day, a new week, a fresh start, lots of water and foods that are green!

How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “Why do I do that?

Leave a Reply

